The judges of the court are appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Senate.  Judges are appointed to the court for life under Article III of the Constitution of the United States.  By statute, there are twelve judges in active service.

When eligible, judges may elect to take senior status, which allows them to continue to serve on the court while handling fewer cases than a judge in
active service.  Each judge in active service employs a judicial assistant and up to four law clerks, while each judge in senior status employs a judicial assistant and one law clerk.

Judicial Council of the Federal Circuit

For purpose of implementing 28. U.S.C. § 332, the Judicial Council of the Federal Circuit consists of all circuit judges in regular active service and is responsible for “mak[ing] all necessary and appropriate orders for the effective and expeditious administration of justice within its circuit.”  The Circuit Executive is appointed by the Judicial Council and serves as its secretary.

Council Members

  • Kimberly A. Moore, Chief Circuit Judge
  • Pauline Newman, Circuit Judge
  • Alan D. Lourie, Circuit Judge
  • Timothy B. Dyk, Circuit Judge
  • Sharon Prost, Circuit Judge
  • Jimmie V. Reyna, Circuit Judge
  • Richard G. Taranto, Circuit Judge
  • Raymond T. Chen, Circuit Judge
  • Todd M. Hughes, Circuit Judge
  • Kara F. Stoll, Circuit Judge
  • Tiffany P. Cunningham, Circuit Judge
  • Leonard P. Stark, Circuit Judge

For more information related to the Judges, see the links below: