Text Size:

-A A +A

You are here

Announcements in 2011

Circuit Judge Richard Linn received the A. Sherman Christensen Award at the American Inns of Court Celebration of Excellence held at the Supreme Court of the United States on Saturday, November 5, 2011. The award is given to a member of the American Inns of Court who has “provided distinguished, exceptional and significant leadership to the American Inns of Court movement.” The award was presented to Judge Linn by Dean Deanell Reece Tacha of Pepperdine University School of Law, at the ceremony which was hosted by Justice Sonia Sotomayor. Judge Linn has been a leader in the Inns of Court, as a past president of the Giles S. Rich American Inn of Court in Washington, DC, a member of the eponymous Richard Linn American Inn of Court in Chicago, IL, and a visiting member of the Honorable William C. Conner American Inn of Court in New York, New York. In addition, his vision and guidance have led to the formation of twelve American Inns of Court in the last five years and to the creation of the Linn Inn Alliance, which connects the now sixteen intellectual property Inns nationwide.

On December 2, 2011, the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit will honor the distinguished life and career of Circuit Judge Glenn L. Archer, Jr., who was a member of the court from December 23, 1985 until his death on July 27, 2011. The Special Session will be held in Courtroom 201 at 3:00 in the afternoon. All are welcome to join the court family in honoring this respected jurist, but please be sure to RSVP. See the invitation for details and to RSVP. The deadline for RSVP's is November 30, 2011.

Pursuant to 28 U.S. C. § 295,  Circuit Judge Bryson has been designated by the Chief Justice of the United States to preside over four cases in the Eastern District of Texas. The cases assigned to Judge Bryson are:  Docket No. 2-08-cv-70 Personalized Media Communications, LLC v. Echostar Corp., et al.; Docket No. 2-08-cv-196 eTool v. National Semiconductor; Docket No. 2-08-cv-471 TQP Development v. ING Bank FSB, et al. ; and Docket No. 2:08-cv-313 Versata, et al. v. Internet Brands, et al..

The Honorable Evan J. Wallach was sworn-in on Friday, November 18, 2011, as the newest member of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Chief Judge Randall Rader administered the oath of office at approximately 11:15am, while Judge Wallach placed his hand on both the historic Lincoln Bible and a Wallach family prayer book, which were held by the United States Senate Majority Leader Harry S. Reid.  Unable to be present in person but listening closely via speaker phone, was Judge Wallach's wife, Dr. Katherine C. Tobin.

The following members of the court witnessed the ceremony: Judge Pauline Newman, Judge Jay Plager, Judge Alan Lourie, Judge Raymond Clevenger, Judge William Bryson, Judge Richard Linn, Judge Timothy Dyk, Judge Sharon Prost, Judge Kimberly Moore, Judge Kathleen O'Malley, and Judge Jimmie Reyna. George Pappas, Judge O'Malley's husband, also attended. 

Senior Staff of the court who were present included: Circuit Executive Jan Horbaly, Deputy Circuit Executive Dale Bosley, Chief Deputy Clerk Pamela Twiford, General Counsel Douglas Steere, and Circuit Librarian Patricia McDermott.  James Benjamin of the Clerk's Office served as Notary Public, Shannon Chambers, also of the Clerk's Office, took photographs, and Larry Castellino and George Callen of the Administrative Services Office also assisted. Members of Chief Judge Rader's staff who attended included: Patricia Taylor, Jinrong Li, Patricia Grob, Lindsay Hopkins, Kori Anne Bagrowski, Charlin Lu and Ellen Lin. Judge Wallach was nominated by President Obama on July 28, 2011 and confirmed by the Senate on November 8, 2011.  

Circuit Judge Evan J. Wallach is sworn in by Chief Judge Rader. Senator Reid, Judge Wallach's longtime friend, holds the Lincoln Bible and Wallach family prayer book.

Circuit Judge Alan D. Lourie spoke about trends and changes at the Federal Circuit at a meeting of the Boston Intellectual Property American Inn of Court on Tuesday, November 1, 2011.